Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 219 : Motor Vehicle Purchase and Use Tax

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 8921)
  • § 8921. Assessments

    If a rental company neglects or refuses to file any report required by this chapter, the Commissioner shall make an estimate of the tax due, based upon information available to the Commissioner, for the period for which the rental company failed to make the report, and shall assess the tax due from the rental company, adding to the amount thus determined a penalty of 50 percent of the tax due. The assessment shall bear interest at the rate of one and one-half percent per month from the date the tax payment was due until paid. The Commissioner shall give the rental company notice by mail of the assessment, and payment shall be due within 15 days of the date of the mailing of the notice. (Added 1983, No. 251 (Adj. Sess.), § 15, eff. Jan. 1, 1985; amended 2021, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 579, eff. July 1, 2022.)