Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 30 : Public Service

Chapter 001 : Appointment, General Powers, and Duties

(Cite as: 30 V.S.A. § 8)
  • § 8. Powers of single Commission member or other officer or employee

    (a) One Commission member or any officer or employee of the Commission duly appointed by the Chair of the Commission may inquire into and examine any matter within the jurisdiction of the Commission.

    (b) A hearing officer may administer oaths in all cases, so far as the exercise of that power is properly incidental to the performance of his or her duty or that of the Commission. A hearing officer may hold any hearing in any matter within the jurisdiction of the Commission to hear.

    (c) A hearing officer shall report his or her findings of fact in writing to the Commission in the form of a proposal for decision. A copy shall be served upon the parties pursuant to 3 V.S.A. § 811. However, judgment on such findings shall be rendered only by a majority of the Commission.

    (d) At least 12 days prior to a hearing before the Commission or a hearing officer, the Commission shall give written notice of the time and place of the hearing to all parties to the case and shall indicate the name and title of the person designated to conduct the hearing.

    (e) Upon written request to the Commission at least five days prior to the hearing by all parties to the case, the Chair shall appoint at least a majority of the Commission to conduct the hearing.

    (f) Notwithstanding subsection (c) of this section, the Chair may appoint a hearing officer to hear and finally determine any consumer complaint where the amount in controversy does not exceed $2,000.00. Upon petition of a party, filed within 30 days of issuance of the hearing officer’s decision and order, or on its own motion, the Commission may determine that the hearing officer’s decision and order should be treated as a proposal for decision and order as provided in subsection (c) of this section. The Commission may grant such request for good cause, including apparent error of fact, or procedural or substantive law, and may conduct additional evidentiary hearings or hear oral argument from the parties. If such request is not timely made, or is not granted by the Commission, the decision and order of the hearing officer shall become the final decision and order of the Commission. (Amended 1959, No. 329 (Adj. Sess.), § 39(b), (c), eff. March 1, 1961; 1971, No. 180 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. March 28, 1972; 1973, No. 96; 1993, No. 21, § 4, eff. May 12, 1993.)