The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : General Provisions(Cite as: 23 V.S.A. § 601)
§ 601. License required
(a)(1) Except as otherwise provided by law, a resident shall not operate a motor vehicle on a highway in Vermont unless he or she holds a valid license issued by the State of Vermont. A new resident who has moved into the State from another jurisdiction and who holds a valid license to operate motor vehicles under section 208 of this title shall procure a Vermont license within 60 days of moving to the State. Except as provided in subsection 603(d) of this title, licenses shall not be issued to nonresidents.
(2) In addition to any other requirement of law, a nonresident as defined in section 4 of this title shall not operate a motor vehicle on a Vermont highway unless:
(A) he or she holds a valid license or permit to operate a motor vehicle issued by another U.S. jurisdiction; or
(B) he or she holds a valid license or permit to operate a motor vehicle from a jurisdiction outside the United States and:
(i) is at least 18 years of age, is lawfully present in the United States, and has been in the United States for not more than one year; and
(ii) he or she possesses an international driving permit.
(b) All operator’s licenses issued under this chapter shall expire, unless earlier cancelled, at midnight on the eve of the second or fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the license holder following the date of issue. Renewed licenses shall expire at midnight on the eve of the second or fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the license holder following the date the renewed license expired. All junior operator’s licenses shall expire, unless earlier cancelled, at midnight on the eve of the second anniversary of the date of birth of the license holder following the date of issue. A person born on February 29 shall, for the purposes of this section, be considered as born on March 1.
(c) At least 30 days before a license is scheduled to expire, the Commissioner shall mail first class to the licensee or send the licensee electronically an application for renewal of the license; a cardholder shall be sent the renewal notice by mail unless the cardholder opts in to receive electronic notification. A person shall not operate a motor vehicle unless properly licensed.
(d) The Commissioner may, in his or her discretion, determine that certain types of motor vehicles require that an operator possess specialized skill or knowledge to operate those vehicles so that the public safety may not be endangered. If the Commissioner so determines, he or she may prescribe different classes of licenses for the operation of particular types of vehicles. The Commissioner is authorized to make rules prescribing forms and procedures for applications, license classifications, restrictions, endorsements, examinations, driver training requirements, and disqualifications consistent with this title as necessary to carry out the provisions of this section.
(e) A motor-driven cycle may be operated only by a licensed driver at least 16 years of age.
(f) Operators of autocycles shall be exempt from the requirements to obtain a motorcycle learner’s permit or a motorcycle endorsement. The Commissioner shall offer operators of three-wheeled motorcycles that are not autocycles the opportunity to obtain a motorcycle endorsement that authorizes the operation of three-wheeled motorcycles only.
(g) A person who violates this section commits a traffic violation, except that a person who violates this section after a previous conviction under this section within the prior two years shall be subject to imprisonment for not more than 60 days or a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both. An unsworn printout of the person’s Vermont motor vehicle conviction history may be admitted into evidence to prove a prior conviction under this section. (Amended 1966, No. 38 (Sp. Sess.), § 1; 1967, No. 86, § 1; 1977, No. 20, § 10; 1981, No. 130 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; 1989, No. 51, § 34; 1989, No. 239 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; 1991, No. 88, § 2; 2003, No. 56, § 71, eff. June 4, 2003; 2003, No. 154 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2005, No. 188 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; 2007, No. 153 (Adj. Sess.), § 40; 2007, No. 188 (Adj. Sess.), § 5; 2009, No. 152 (Adj. Sess.), § 19e, eff. Sept. 1, 2010; 2013, No. 189 (Adj. Sess.), §§ 33, 35; 2015, No. 147 (Adj. Sess.), § 17; 2015, No. 158 (Adj. Sess.), § 63; 2017, No. 71, § 10, eff. June 8, 2017; 2017, No. 206 (Adj. Sess.), § 17; 2019, No. 60, §§ 8, 13.)