Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 18 : Health

Chapter 009 : Laboratory Services; Chief Medical Examiner; Autopsies

(Cite as: 18 V.S.A. § 501b)
  • Londeree, Vicki (LNG-HBE) Londeree, Vicki (LNG-HBE) 2 1 2023-11-15T20:49:00Z 2023-11-15T20:51:00Z 1 408 2594 21 5 2997 16.00 Print 169 Clean Clean false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE /* Style Definitions */ table.MsoNormalTable {mso-style-name:"Table Normal"; mso-tstyle-rowband-size:0; mso-tstyle-colband-size:0; mso-style-noshow:yes; mso-style-priority:99; mso-style-parent:""; mso-padding-alt:0in 5.4pt 0in 5.4pt; mso-para-margin:0in; mso-pagination:widow-orphan; font-size:10.0pt; font-family:"Times New Roman",serif;}

    501b. Certification of laboratories

    (a) The Commissioner may certify a laboratory that meets the standards currently in effect of the National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Conference and is accredited by an approved National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program accrediting authority or its equivalent to perform the testing and monitoring:

    (1) required under 10 V.S.A. chapter 56 and the federal Safe Drinking Water Act; and

    (2) of water from a potable water supply, as that term is defined in 10 V.S.A. 1972(6).

    (b)(1) The Commissioner may by order suspend or revoke a certificate granted under this section, after notice and opportunity to be heard, if the Commissioner finds that the certificate holder has:

    (A) submitted materially false or materially inaccurate information; or

    (B) violated any material requirement, restriction, or condition of the certificate; or

    (C) violated any statute, rule, or order relating to this title.

    (2) The order shall set forth what steps, if any, may be taken by the certificate holder to relieve the holder of the suspension or enable the certificate holder to reapply for certification if a previous certificate has been revoked.

    (c) A certificate holder may appeal the suspension or revocation of the certificate to the Superior Court of the county in which the certificate holder is located.

    (d) Laboratory certification and approval Annual fee shall be:

    Drug laboratory approval $500.00

    Drug laboratory alternate approval $300.00

    Drug laboratory approval renewal $300.00

    Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) laboratory

    certification Bacteriology $500.00

    Inorganic chemistry $500.00

    Organic chemistry (volatile organic

    compounds/pesticides $500.00

    Radiological chemistry $500.00

    Laboratory site visits Not to exceed cost

    Clinical laboratory registration fee $25.00

    (e) Fees collected under this section shall be credited to a special fund and shall be available to the Department to offset the costs of providing these services.

    (f) A laboratory certified to conduct testing of groundwater sources or water supplies for use by a potable water supply, as that term is defined in 10 V.S.A. 1972(6), including under the requirements of 10 V.S.A. 1982, shall submit the results of groundwater analyses to the Department of Health in a format required by the Department of Health. (Added 1991, No. 71, 6; amended 1997, No. 155 (Adj. Sess.), 56; 2003, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), 1; 2011, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), 3, eff. Jan. 1, 2013; 2017, No. 161 (Adj. Sess.), 6; 2019, No. 57, 16; 2023, No. 53, 45, eff. June 8, 2023.)