The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 004 : NEWBORN INFANTS(Cite as: 8 V.S.A. § 4092)
§ 4092. Newborn infants; coverage
(a) An individual or group health insurance policy providing coverage on an expense incurred basis and an individual or group service or indemnity contract issued by a nonprofit corporation which provides coverage for a family member of the insured or subscriber shall, as to those family members’ coverage, also provide that health insurance benefits applicable for children are payable with respect to a newly born child of the insured or subscriber from the moment of birth. Coverage for a newly born child shall include coverage of injury, sickness, necessary care and treatment of medically diagnosed congenital defect or birth abnormality, or any combination of these.
(b) Coverage for a newly born child shall be provided without notice or additional premium for no less than 60 days after the date of birth. If payment of a specific premium or subscription fee is required in order to have the coverage continue beyond such 60-day period, the policy may require that notification of birth of newly born child and payment of the required premium or fees be furnished to the insurer or nonprofit service or indemnity corporation within a period of not less than 60 days after the date of birth.
(c) The requirements of this section shall apply to all insurance policies and subscriber contracts delivered or issued for delivery in this State more than 120 days after April 15, 1975. (Added 1975, No. 53, § 1, eff. April 15, 1975; amended, 1989, No. 113, § 1; 2013, No. 79, § 4, eff. Jan. 1, 2014.)