The Vermont Statutes Online
§ 485. Revocation or suspension of licenses; appeals
(a) The Secretary may suspend, revoke, or decline to grant a dealer or processor license for cause, or for failure of the applicant to provide all information which the Secretary may reasonably request. Before declining to grant a license, or suspending or revoking a license, the Secretary shall give at least ten days' notice to the applicant or licensee by registered or certified mail addressed to his or her last known address and afford him or her an opportunity to appear and be heard with respect thereto at a time and place specified in the notice. The applicant or licensee may be heard in person or by an attorney, and offer evidence pertinent to the subject of the hearing. Within 30 days after the hearing, the Secretary shall make findings of fact in writing and shall notify the applicant or licensee of his or her decision in writing.
(b) The applicant or licensee may appeal the decision to the Washington Superior Court or the Superior Court for the county where the applicant or licensee is doing business. Such an appeal shall be limited to questions of law and shall be governed by the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure. The applicant shall file a statement of questions for the court's review within 30 days of filing the notice of appeal.
(c) The decision of the Superior Court may be appealed to the Vermont Supreme Court.
(d) A dealer who has not been licensed, or whose license was suspended or revoked by the Secretary, shall not engage in the sale, barter, or exchange of any maple products within the State of Vermont for commercial purposes. (Added 1981, No. 235 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1991, No. 79, § 3; 2003, No. 42, § 2, eff. May 27, 2003.)