The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 001 : Reports of Abuse of Vulnerable Adults(Cite as: 33 V.S.A. § 6913)
§ 6913. Penalties; abuse; neglect; exploitation; mandatory reporter’s failure to report
(a) Whenever the Department finds, after notice and hearing, that a person has committed sexual abuse as defined in subdivision 6902(1)(D) of this title, exploitation as defined in subdivision 6902(13) of this title in an amount in excess of $500.00, abuse that causes grievous injury to or the death of a vulnerable adult, or neglect that causes grievous injury to or the death of a vulnerable adult, the Department may impose an administrative penalty of not more than $25,000.00 for each violation. The Department shall notify the Office of Professional Regulation, or any other professional licensing board applicable to the violator, of any decision made pursuant to this subsection.
(b) The Department shall investigate allegations that a mandated reporter has failed to make a required report when it appears that an investigation is appropriate. Whenever the Department finds, after notice and hearing, that a mandatory reporter, as defined in subsection 6903(a) of this title, has willfully violated the provisions of subdivision 6903(a)(1), the Department may impose an administrative penalty not to exceed $1,000.00 per violation. For purposes of this subsection, every 24 hours that a report is not made beyond the period for reporting required by section 6903 shall constitute a new and separate violation, and a mandatory reporter shall be liable for an administrative penalty of not more than $1,000.00 for each 24-hour period, not to exceed a maximum penalty of $25,000.00 per reportable incident.
(c) Whenever the Department finds that a mandatory reporter willfully or knowingly withheld information, or provided false or inaccurate information, the Department may impose an administrative penalty not to exceed $1,000.00 per violation.
(d) A person who is aggrieved by a decision under subsection (a), (b), or (c) of this section may appeal that decision to the Superior Court, where either party may request trial by jury. (Added 1985, No. 78, § 13; amended 1993, No. 100, § 8; 2001, No. 135 (Adj. Sess.), § 8, eff. June 13, 2002; 2005, No. 79, § 4; 2023, No. 81, § 1, eff. July 1, 2023.)