The Vermont Statutes Online
Title 33 : Human Services
Chapter 019 : MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
Subchapter 002 : HEALTH CARE IMPROVEMENT PROGRAM(Cite as: 33 V.S.A. § 1955a)
[Repealed effective July 1, 2023.]
§ 1955a. Home health agency assessment
(a)(1) Each home health agency’s assessment shall be 4.25 percent of its net patient revenues from home health services provided exclusively in Vermont.
(2) On or before May 1 of each year, each home health agency shall provide to the Department a copy of its most recent audited financial statement prepared in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles. The amount of the tax shall be determined by the Commissioner based on the home health net patient revenue attributable to services reported on the agency’s financial statement.
(3) For providers who began operations as a home health agency after January 1, 2005, the tax shall be assessed as follows:
(A) Until such time as the home health agency submits audited financial statements for its first full year of operation as a home health agency, the Commissioner, in consultation with the home health agency, shall annually estimate the amount of tax payable and shall prescribe a schedule for interim payments.
(B) At such time as the full-year audited financial statement is filed, the final assessment shall be determined, and the home health agency shall pay any underpayment or the Department shall refund any overpayment. The assessment for the State fiscal year in which a provider commences operations as a home health agency shall be prorated for the proportion of the State fiscal year in which the new home health agency was in operation.
(b) Each home health agency shall be notified in writing by the Department of the assessment made pursuant to this section. If no home health agency submits a request for reconsideration under section 1958 of this title, the assessment shall be considered final.
(c) Each home health agency shall submit its assessment to the Department according to a payment schedule adopted by the Commissioner. Variations in payment schedules shall be permitted as deemed necessary by the Commissioner.
(d) Any home health agency that fails to make a payment to the Department on or before the specified schedule, or under any schedule for delayed payments established by the Commissioner, shall be assessed not more than $1,000.00. The Commissioner may waive the late-payment assessment provided for in this subsection for good cause shown by the home health agency. (Added 1999, No. 49, § 203; amended 2001, No. 65, § 15; 2003, No. 66, § 309; 2005, No. 71, § 288; 2009, No. 47, § 15; 2009, No. 156 (Adj. Sess.), § I.56; 2011, No. 45, § 23, eff. May 24, 2011; 2013, No. 73, § 55, eff. July 1, 2005, eff. June 5, 2013; 2017, No. 73, § 18a, eff. June 13, 2017; repealed on July 1, 2023 by 2021, No. 73 § 13.)