Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 33 : Human Services

Chapter 019 : Medical Assistance

Subchapter 001B : Complementary Legislation to Nonparticipating Tobacco Manufacturers Statutes

(Cite as: 33 V.S.A. § 1923)
  • § 1923. Penalties and other remedies

    (a) In addition to or in lieu of any other civil or criminal remedy provided by law, upon a determination that a stamping agent has violated this subchapter or any rule adopted pursuant to this subchapter, the Attorney General may, for each violation of this subchapter, also impose a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed the greater of 500 percent of the retail value of the cigarettes sold, offered for sale, or possessed for sale in violation of this subchapter or $5,000.00. Each stamp affixed and each sale or offer to sell cigarettes in violation of section 1919 of this subchapter shall constitute a separate violation.

    (b) The Attorney General may seek an injunction to restrain a threatened or actual violation of this subchapter by a stamping agent and to compel the stamping agent to comply with the provisions of this subchapter. In any action brought pursuant to this section, the State shall be entitled to recover the costs of investigation, expert witness fees, costs of the action, and reasonable attorney’s fees.

    (c) It shall be unlawful for a person to:

    (1) Sell or distribute cigarettes that the person knows or should know are intended for distribution or sale in the State in violation of this subchapter.

    (2) Acquire, hold, own, possess, transport, import, or cause to be imported cigarettes that the person knows or should know are intended for distribution or sale in the State in violation of this subchapter. A violation of this section shall be a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment for not more than one year and a fine of not more than $5,000.00, or both.

    (d) A person who violates section 1919 of this title engages in an unfair and deceptive trade practice in violation of the State’s Consumer Protection Act, 9 V.S.A. § 2451 et seq.

    (e) If a court determines that a person has violated the provisions of this subchapter, the court shall order any profits, gain, gross receipts, or other benefit from the violation to be disgorged and paid to the State Treasurer for deposit in the Tobacco Litigation Settlement Fund established pursuant to 32 V.S.A. § 435a.

    (f) Unless otherwise expressly provided, the penalties or remedies, or both, provided by this subchapter are cumulative to each other and to the penalties or remedies, or both, available under all other laws of this State. (Added 2003, No. 14, § 1; amended 2011, No. 109 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. May 8, 2012; 2011, No. 136 (Adj. Sess.), § 1b, eff. May 18, 2012; 2021, No. 20, § 305.)