Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 33 : Human Services

Chapter 019 : Medical Assistance

Subchapter 001 : Medicaid

(Cite as: 33 V.S.A. § 1906a)
  • § 1906a. Recovery against estate; homestead exemptions

    No recovery of medical expenses shall be made under this subchapter against a homestead, provided that the homestead would pass to one or more lineal heirs or siblings of the decedent who either have income below 300 percent of the federal poverty level or who have contributed significantly, monetarily or otherwise, to the decedent so as to allow the decedent to delay or avoid nursing home placement. If a maximum homestead value exemption is allowed by federal law, then any recoveries due to the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services on homesteads valued between such maximum and $125,000.00 shall be paid through State general funds provided the caregiving or poverty standards set forth in this section are also met and the probate estate was opened after June 30, 2000. (Added 1999, No. 62, § 125; amended 1999, No. 152 (Adj. Sess.), § 117a, eff. May 29, 2000; 2013, No. 131 (Adj. Sess.), § 42, eff. May 20, 2014.)