Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 33 : Human Services

Chapter 010 : Reach First

Subchapter 001 : Eligibility and Assistance

(Cite as: 33 V.S.A. § 1004)
  • § 1004. Reach First payment

    (a) An eligible family shall receive a short-term cash payment, which is the equivalent of up to 120 days of Reach Up financial assistance for the relevant family size with the same income. The family may receive the payment in installments or a lump sum, if needed to avert a crisis as determined in the initial assessment or the family development plan, during the period in which the family seeks immediate employment or participates in assessment and creating a family development plan. The Commissioner may establish by rule exceptions to the limit on the amount of the payment, as long as the exceptions are budget-neutral to the program.

    (b) The Department shall offer every eligible family the option of electronic or direct payment of the family’s housing or other expenses to the person providing the lodging, utilities, or other service as provided for by rule.

    (c) For the purposes of calculating the payment, child support shall be treated as income, except that the first $100.00 amount of child support shall be disregarded from income. (Added 2007, No. 30, § 1, eff. May 17, 2007; amended 2023, No. 78, § E.323.1, eff. July 1, 2023.)