Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 33 : Human Services

Chapter 010 : REACH FIRST

Subchapter 001 : ELIGIBILITY AND ASSISTANCE

(Cite as: 33 V.S.A. § 1003)
  • § 1003. Eligibility

    (a) A family shall be eligible for the Reach First program if the family's income and resources are below the limits established for the Reach Up program, and the family resides in Vermont. All applicants for programs under this chapter or chapter 11 or 12 of this title shall be provided an orientation, initial assessments, the Reach First payment, and, if appropriate for the family, in-depth assessment, a family development plan, and services through Reach First.

    (b) Reach First payments and services shall be available only once every 12 months for a family, except as provided for by rule. Families who have received Reach First within the past 12 months shall be provided financial assistance and services through Reach Up, the Postsecondary Education Program, or other program appropriate for the family. Families applying for or participating in other programs may also receive Reach First assessments, payments, or services as provided for by rule.

    (c) The Commissioner may use the eligibility rules for Reach Up instead of adopting new eligibility rules for this program.

    (d) An adult who accepts employment after reporting as directed under section 1007 of this title may receive Reach First or Reach Up, provided that the family remains financially eligible for the program in accordance with Department rules. (Added 2007, No. 30, § 1, eff. May 17, 2007.)