The Vermont Statutes Online
Title 32 : Taxation and Finance
Chapter 243 : HEALTH CARE CLAIMS TAX(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 10404)
§ 10404. Determination of deficiency, refund, penalty, or interest
(a) Within 60 days after the mailing of a notice of deficiency, denial, or reduction of a refund claim, or assessment of penalty or interest, a health insurer may petition the Commissioner in writing for a determination of that deficiency, refund, or assessment. The Commissioner shall thereafter grant a hearing upon the matter and notify the health insurer in writing of his or her determination concerning the deficiency, penalty, or interest. This is the exclusive remedy of a health insurer with respect to these matters.
(b) Any hearing granted by the Commissioner under this section shall be subject to and governed by 3 V.S.A. chapter 25.
(c) Any aggrieved health insurer may, within 30 days after a determination by the Commissioner concerning a notice of deficiency, an assessment of penalty or interest, or a claim to refund, appeal that determination to the Washington Superior Court or to the Superior Court for the county in which the health insurer has a place of business. (Added 2013, No. 73, § 48.)