Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 225 : Meals and Rooms Tax

Subchapter 003 : Enforcement and Penalties

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 9274)
  • § 9274. Petition for reconsideration

    Any operator against whom an assessment shall be made by the Commissioner under the provisions of subsection 9272(e) or section 9273 of this title, and any person aggrieved by the refusal of the Commissioner to make a refund requested under section 9245 of this title, may petition for a reconsideration within 60 days after notice shall have been given such person as provided in this chapter. If a petition for reconsideration is not filed within the 60-day period, the amount of the assessment or the refusal to refund becomes final at the expiration thereof as to law and fact. If a petition for a reconsideration is filed within the 60-day period, the Commissioner shall reconsider the assessment or the refusal and, if the petitioner so requested in his or her petition, shall grant said petitioner an oral hearing and shall give the petitioner 10 days’ notice of the time and places thereof. For a cause shown, the Commissioner may extend the time for filing such petition. If appeal is not taken as provided in section 9275 of this title, the assessment or the refusal to refund upon reconsideration becomes final as to law and fact at the expiration of the 60-day period therein allowed for taking of appeals. The remedies provided by this section and section 9275 of this title shall be the exclusive remedies of a taxpayer for contesting an assessment under sections 9272 and 9273 of this title and denial of a refund under section 9245 of this title. (Added 1959, No. 217, § 12; amended 1975, No. 154 (Adj. Sess.), § 7, eff. date, see note below; 1979, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 33; 1989, No. 222 (Adj. Sess.), § 36; 1991, No. 186 (Adj. Sess.), § 42, eff. May 7, 1992.)