Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 219 : Motor Vehicle Purchase and Use Tax

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 8913)
  • § 8913. Fraudulent collection of tax

    No person, except the Commissioner and his or her authorized representatives, including rental companies as provided in subsection 8903(d) of this title, may collect or accept payment of any tax imposed by this chapter. Any person so doing shall be presumed to have the intent to convert it to his or her own use. Any unauthorized person who willfully collects or accepts payment of such a tax, upon conviction for a first offense, shall be fined not more than $200.00 or imprisoned for not more than 90 days, or both. Upon each subsequent conviction, he or she shall be fined not more than $500.00 or imprisoned for not more than one year, or both. (Added 1959, No. 327 (Adj. Sess.), § 12, eff. March 1, 1960; amended 1983, No. 251 (Adj. Sess.), § 7, eff. Jan. 1, 1985.)