Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 205 : CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS

Subchapter 004 : TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 7814)
  • § 7814. Floor stock tax

    (a) Snuff. A floor stock tax is hereby imposed upon every retail dealer of snuff in this State in the amount by which the new tax exceeds the amount of the tax already paid on the snuff. The tax shall apply to snuff in the possession or control of the retail dealer at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2015, but shall not apply to retail dealers who hold less than $500.00 in wholesale value of such snuff. Each retail dealer subject to the tax shall, on or before July 25, 2015, file a report to the Commissioner in such form as the Commissioner may prescribe showing the snuff on hand at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2015, and the amount of tax due thereon. The tax imposed by this section shall be due and payable on or before August 25, 2015, and thereafter shall bear interest at the rate established under section 3108 of this title. In case of timely payment of the tax, the retail dealer may deduct from the tax due two percent of the tax. Any snuff with respect to which a floor stock tax has been imposed and paid under this section shall not again be subject to tax under section 7811 of this title.

    (b) Cigarettes, little cigars, or roll-your-own tobacco. Notwithstanding the prohibition against further tax on stamped cigarettes, little cigars, or roll-your-own tobacco under section 7771 of this title, a floor stock tax is hereby imposed upon every dealer of cigarettes, little cigars, or roll-your-own tobacco in this State who is either a wholesaler, or a retailer who at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2015, has more than 10,000 cigarettes or little cigars or who has $500.00 or more of wholesale value of roll-your-own tobacco, for retail sale in his or her possession or control. The amount of the tax shall be the amount by which the new tax exceeds the amount of the tax already paid for each cigarette, little cigar, or roll-your-own tobacco in the possession or control of the wholesaler or retail dealer at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2015, and on which cigarette stamps have been affixed before July 1, 2015. A floor stock tax is also imposed on each Vermont cigarette stamp in the possession or control of the wholesaler at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2015, and not yet affixed to a cigarette package, and the tax shall be at the rate of $0.33 per stamp. Each wholesaler and retail dealer subject to the tax shall, on or before July 25, 2015, file a report to the Commissioner in such form as the Commissioner may prescribe showing the cigarettes, little cigars, or roll-your-own tobacco and stamps on hand at 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2015, and the amount of tax due thereon. The tax imposed by this section shall be due and payable on or before July 25, 2015, and thereafter shall bear interest at the rate established under section 3108 of this title. In case of timely payment of the tax, the wholesaler or retail dealer may deduct from the tax due two and three-tenths of one percent of the tax. Any cigarettes, little cigars, or roll-your-own tobacco with respect to which a floor stock tax has been imposed under this section shall not again be subject to tax under section 7771 of this title. (Added 1959, No. 231, § 7; amended 1995, No. 14, § 10, eff. April 12, 1995; 2001, No. 140 (Adj. Sess.), § 25; 2001, No. 140 (Adj. Sess.), § 27, eff. July 1, 2003; 2005, No. 191 (Adj. Sess.), § 39; 2009, No. 1 (Sp. Sess.), § H.39; 2011, No. 45, § 27a; 2013, No. 174 (Adj. Sess.), § 40; 2015, No. 54, § 51.)