The Vermont Statutes Online
The statutes were updated in November, 2018, and contain all actions of the
2018 legislative session.
§ 6068. Application and time for filing
(a) A tax adjustment claim or request for allocation of an income tax refund to homestead property tax payment shall be filed with the Commissioner on or before the due date for filing the Vermont income tax return, without extension, and shall describe the school district in which the homestead property is located and shall particularly describe the homestead property for which the adjustment or allocation is sought, including the school parcel account number prescribed in subsection 5404(b) of this title. A renter rebate claim shall be filed with the Commissioner on or before the due date for filing the Vermont income tax return, without extension.
(b) Late-filing penalties. If the claimant fails to file a timely claim, the amount of the property tax adjustment under this chapter shall be reduced by $15.00, but not below $0.00, which shall be paid to the municipality for the cost of issuing an adjusted homestead property tax bill. No benefit shall be allowed in the calendar year unless the claim is filed with the Commissioner on or before October 15.
(c) No request for allocation of an income tax refund or for a renter rebate claim may be made after October 15. (Added 1997, No. 60, § 51, eff. Jan. 1, 1998; amended 1997, No. 71 (Adj. Sess.), § 17, eff. Jan. 1, 1998; 2001, No. 144 (Adj. Sess.), § 19, eff. June 21, 2002; 2005, No. 185 (Adj. Sess.), § 5; 2007, No. 33, § 5, eff. May 18, 2007; 2011, No. 143 (Adj. Sess.), § 29, eff. Jan. 1, 2013.)