The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 012 : Setoff Debt Collection(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 5936)
§ 5936. Hearing procedure
(a) If a debtor applies in writing for a hearing before a claimant agency within 30 days of the date of mailing of the notice described in subsection 5934(c) of this chapter, the claimant agency shall conduct a hearing to determine the validity and amount of debt owed by the debtor. The hearing shall be held in accordance with 3 V.S.A. §§ 809 through 813.
(b) The final determination of any claimant agency regarding the validity and amount of any debt may be appealed within 30 days to the Civil Division of the Superior Court of the unit in which the taxpayer resides, except that if the claimant agency is the Office of Child Support the appeal shall be to the Family Division of the Superior Court. Upon appeal, the provisions of the Vermont Rules of Civil Procedure or the Vermont Rules for Family Proceedings, as appropriate, shall apply, and the Court shall proceed de novo to determine the debt owed.
(c) Upon conclusion of the hearings and appeals granted under this section, and upon notification by the Commissioner of the result of any appeal under section 5935 of this chapter, a claimant agency shall notify each taxpayer whose refund is set off that a final setoff has occurred. The notice shall include the amount of refund transferred to the claimant agency, the amount of debt finally determined to be owed to the claimant agency, the amount of refund, if any, returned to a non-debtor spouse, and the amount of any outstanding balance due the debtor after final setoff. The claimant agency shall disburse any outstanding balance due the debtor along with the notice of the final setoff. (Added 1981, No. 228 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. May 4, 1982; amended 1997, No. 63, § 20, eff. Sept. 1, 1997; 2009, No. 154 (Adj. Sess.), § 217.)