Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2019-2020 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 32 : Taxation and Finance

Chapter 151 : INCOME TAXES

Subchapter 006 : RETURNS

(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 5864)
  • § 5864. Failure to file a return; petition and computation of tax

    (a) Upon the failure of a taxpayer to file any return required under this chapter within 15 days of the date of a notice to the taxpayer under section 5863 of this title, the Commissioner may petition a judge of the Superior Court in the county wherein the taxpayer resides or has a place of business, (or, if the taxpayer neither resides nor has a place of business in this State, the Commissioner may petition the Washington Superior Court), and upon the petition of the Commissioner and a hearing, the judge shall issue a citation requiring the taxpayer (and, if the taxpayer is a corporation, any principal officer of such corporation) to file a proper return in accordance with this chapter, upon pain of contempt. The order of notice upon the petition shall be returnable not later than 20 days after the filing of the petition. The petition shall be heard and determined on the return day or on such day thereafter as the court shall fix, having regard to the speediest possible determination of the case consistent with the rights of the parties. The judgment shall include costs in favor of the prevailing party.

    (b) Upon the failure of a taxpayer to file any return required under this chapter within 15 days of the date of a notice to the taxpayer under section 5863 of this title, whether or not a petition has been or will be filed under subsection (a) of this section, the Commissioner may compute the tax liability of the taxpayer with respect to which the return was required to be filed, according to the Commissioner's best information and belief. Upon that computation, the Commissioner shall notify the taxpayer of his or her deficiency with respect to the payment of that tax liability, and may assess any penalty or interest with respect thereto, under sections 3202 and 3203 of this title. (Added 1966, No. 61 (Sp. Sess.), § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1966; amended 1973, No. 193 (Adj. Sess.), § 3, eff. April 9, 1974; 2017, No. 74, § 137.)