The Vermont Statutes Online
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
NOTE: The online version of the Vermont Statutes does NOT yet include the actions of the 2023 legislative session. The 2023 updates should be available by the end of October.
Subchapter 006 : RETURNS(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 5861)
§ 5861. Returns by individuals, trusts, and estates
(a) Every individual, trust, or estate subject to taxation for any taxable year under section 5822 of this title shall file a Vermont personal income tax return for that taxable year if that person is required to file a United States income tax return for that year and (1) earned or received more than $100.00 of Vermont income, or (2) earned or received more than $1,000.00 in gross income from the sources listed in subdivisions 5823(b)(1) through (6) of this title, whether or not a resident, in that year, or has a tax liability under this chapter for that year.
(b) The return required to be filed under this section shall be filed on or before the date a United States income tax return is originally required to be filed by the individual, trust, or estate under the laws of the United States for the taxable year or the date as extended by the Commissioner under section 5868 of this title.
(c) Spouses or a surviving spouse may file a joint Vermont personal income tax return for any taxable year for which the spouses or surviving spouse are permitted to file a joint federal income tax return under the laws of the United States.
(d) If a joint Vermont personal income tax return is filed by spouses or by a surviving spouse for any taxable year, the tax under this chapter shall be measured by the joint federal income tax liability of the taxpayers for that taxable year and their liability with respect to the tax under this chapter shall be joint and several.
(e) The Commissioner may require information on a Vermont personal income tax return that is sufficient to identify the school district, as defined in 16 V.S.A. § 11(a)(10), in which the taxpayer resides. The Commissioner may consider a return incomplete if the information required under this subsection is not provided and shall cause the return to be completed.
(g) [Repealed.] (Added 1966, No. 61 (Sp. Sess.), § 1, eff. Jan. 1, 1966; amended 1967, No. 121, § 13, eff. Jan. 1, 1968; 1981, No. 170 (Adj. Sess.), § 5, eff. April 19, 1982; 1987, No. 82, § 3, eff. June 9, 1987; 1993, No. 49, §§ 13, 14, eff. May 28, 1993; 1995, No. 47, § 20, eff. April 20, 1995; 1999, No. 49, § 56, eff. June 2, 1999; 2007, No. 33, § 2, eff. May 18, 2007; 2021, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 538, eff. July 1, 2022.)