The Vermont Statutes Online
The statutes were updated in November, 2018, and contain all actions of the
2018 legislative session.
Subchapter 008 : VERMONT FALSE CLAIMS ACT(Cite as: 32 V.S.A. § 632)
§ 632. Civil actions for false claims
(a) The Attorney General shall investigate violations of subsection 631(a) of this chapter. If the Attorney General finds that a person has violated or is violating subsection 631(a), the Attorney General may bring a civil action in the Civil Division of the Superior Court under this section against the person. The action may be brought in Washington County or in any county where an act prohibited by section 631 occurred.
(b)(1) A relator may bring a civil action in the Civil Division of the Superior Court in Washington County or in any county where an act prohibited by section 631 of this chapter occurred for a violation of this chapter on behalf of the relator and the State. The action shall be brought in the name of the State. The relator must file the complaint in camera. The complaint must remain under seal for at least 60 days after being served on the Attorney General and must not be served on the defendant until the court so orders.
(2) Once filed, the action may be dismissed only if the Attorney General gives written reasons for consenting to the dismissal and the court approves the dismissal. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, it shall not be a cause for dismissal or a basis for a defense that the relator could have brought another action based on the same or similar facts under any other law.
(3) A relator filing an action under this chapter must serve a copy of the complaint and written disclosure of substantially all material evidence and information the relator possesses on the Attorney General in accordance with the Rules of Civil Procedure. The Attorney General may elect to intervene and proceed with the action within 60 days after the later of the date the Attorney General is served with:
(A) the complaint; and
(B) the material evidence and information.
(4) The Attorney General may, for good cause shown, move the court for extensions of the time during which the complaint remains under seal under subdivision (b)(1) of this section. Any such motions may be supported by affidavits or other submissions in camera.
(5) Before the expiration of the 60-day period or any extensions obtained under subdivision (4) of this subsection, the State shall:
(A) proceed with the action, in which case the action shall be conducted by the Attorney General; or
(B) notify the court that it declines to take over the action, in which case the relator shall have the right to conduct the action.
(6) When a relator brings an action under this subsection, no person other than the Attorney General may intervene or bring a related action based on the facts underlying the pending action. (Added 2015, No. 25, § 1, eff. May 18, 2015.)