The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Chapter 005 : State Policy; Plans; Jurisdiction and Regulatory Authority of Commission and Department
Subchapter 001 : General Powers(Cite as: 30 V.S.A. § 230)
§ 230. Special rate or rebate; penalty
Except as provided in section 229 of this title, an officer or employee of such public service company who grants a special rate or rebate or knowingly consents thereto shall be subject to a civil penalty imposed by the Commission, after notice and an opportunity for hearing, of not less than $100.00 nor more than $1,000.00. In addition, such company granting a special rate or rebate shall be subject to a civil penalty imposed by the Commission, after notice and opportunity for hearing, of not more than the larger of $10,000.00 or five times the amount of the benefit or rebate. (Amended 1961, No. 263, § 6, eff. July 31, 1961; 1995, No. 99 (Adj. Sess.), § 8.)