The Vermont Statutes Online
The statutes were updated in November, 2018, and contain all actions of the
2018 legislative session.
Subchapter 005 : PERMITS(Cite as: 29 V.S.A. § 541)
§ 541. Drilling permits
(a) No person shall commence drilling a well for oil or gas exploration, development, production, or related purposes without a permit issued by the board.
(b) An application for a permit shall be filed with the board in the manner and form prescribed by rule, and shall include at least the following:
(1) the applicant's name, address, address of each applicant's offices within the state and, where the applicant is not a natural person, the form, date, and place of formation of the applicant;
(2) a plat prepared by a competent engineer or certified professional surveyor showing the county, town, and tract of land on which the proposed well is to be located and an exact location of the well site established in accordance with the Vermont coordinate system;
(3) the proposed angle, direction, and depth of the well if the well is to be substantially deviated from a vertical course;
(4) a fee, based on the depth to be drilled, as prescribed by rule of the board;
(5) a permit under chapter 151 of Title 10 (Act 250). In the case of an application for a permit to drill on lands leased from the state, the state land manager shall be a co-applicant with the lessee for the permit; provided, however, that the board shall be considered a party for purposes of any hearing or appeal.
(c) The board may conduct investigations it considers necessary to verify information contained in the application. The applicant shall grant the board, its employees and agents permission to enter upon the site for this purpose.
(d) Within 30 days of the granting of a drilling permit by the board, the permit shall be filed by the applicant for recording in the land records of the town in which the proposed well is to be located. Failure to comply with this section shall be cause for revocation of a drilling permit.
(e) Drilling permits shall expire one year after issuance unless drilling operations are commenced within such time and prosecuted with due diligence. At least 15 days prior to the commencement of drilling operations, every person granted permission to drill a well pursuant to this section shall give written notice by certified mail to the board, local agencies, and the surface landowner affected. (Added 1981, No. 240 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. April 28, 1982.)