Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 27 : Property

Chapter 018 : Unclaimed Property

Subchapter 009 : Claim to Recover Property from Administrator

(Cite as: 27 V.S.A. § 1554)
  • § 1554. When Administrator must honor claim for property

    (a) The Administrator shall pay or deliver property to a claimant under subsection 1553(a) of this title if the Administrator receives evidence sufficient to establish to the satisfaction of the Administrator that the claimant is the owner of the property.

    (b) Not later than 90 days after a claim is filed under subsection 903(a), the Administrator shall allow or deny the claim and give the claimant notice in a record of the decision.

    (c) If the claim is denied under subsection (b) of this section:

    (1) the Administrator shall inform the claimant of the reason for the denial and specify what additional evidence, if any, is required for the claim to be allowed;

    (2) the claimant may file an amended claim with the Administrator or commence an action under section 1556 of this title; and

    (3) the Administrator shall consider an amended claim filed under subdivision (2) of this subsection as an initial claim.

    (d) If the Administrator does not take action on a claim during the 90-day period following the filing of a claim under subsection 1553(a) of this title, the claim is deemed denied. (Added 2019, No. 93 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 2021.)