Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 27 : Property

Chapter 018 : Unclaimed Property

Subchapter 008 : Administration of Property

(Cite as: 27 V.S.A. § 1543)
  • § 1543. Expenses and service charges of Administrator

    Before making a deposit of funds received under this chapter to the General Fund, the Administrator may deduct:

    (1) expenses of disposition of property delivered to the Administrator under this chapter;

    (2) costs of mailing and publication in connection with property delivered to the Administrator under this chapter;

    (3) reasonable service charges;

    (4) expenses incurred in examining records of or collecting property from a putative holder or holder; and

    (5) property valued at $100.00 or less more than 10 years after the abandoned property was received from the holder under subchapter 6 of this chapter shall be paid by the Administrator into the Vermont Higher Education Endowment Trust Fund created by 16 V.S.A. § 2885 under authority of this subdivision. For purposes of this subdivision, the value of the abandoned property shall be that value as of the date the property was received from the holder by the Administrator. (Added 2019, No. 93 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 2021.)