Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 27 : Property

Chapter 018 : Unclaimed Property

Subchapter 005 : Notice to Apparent Owner of Property Presumed Abandoned

(Cite as: 27 V.S.A. § 1501)
  • § 1501. Notice to apparent owner by holder

    (a) Subject to subsection (b) of this section, the holder of property presumed abandoned shall send to the apparent owner notice by first-class U.S. mail that complies with section 1502 of this title in a format acceptable to the Administrator not more than 180 days nor less than 60 days before filing the report under section 1491 of this title if:

    (1) the holder has in its records an address for the apparent owner that the holder’s records do not disclose to be invalid and is sufficient to direct the delivery of first-class U.S. mail to the apparent owner; and

    (2) the value of the property is $50.00 or more.

    (b) If an apparent owner has consented to receive electronic-mail delivery from the holder, the holder shall send the notice described in subsection (a) of this section both by first-class U.S. mail to the apparent owner’s last-known mailing address and by electronic mail, unless the holder believes that the apparent owner’s electronic-mail address is invalid. (Added 2019, No. 93 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. Jan. 1, 2021.)