The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 003 : Protection of Tenants in Conversion of Mobile Home Parks(Cite as: 27 V.S.A. § 1354)
§ 1354. Election period
(a) The declarant shall provide leaseholders an election period of at least six months from the date that notice of intent to convert a mobile home park is given, to allow leaseholders to consider their options to either purchase their site, or to vote against conversion.
(b) During the election period, the declarant, representatives of the leaseholders, members of the department of housing and community affairs, and advocates of the leaseholders shall have access to the mobile home park and the leaseholders to facilitate meetings and informational sessions so that the leaseholders may evaluate their options prior to voting on the proposed conversion.
(c) Leaseholders shall vote either to pursue a conversion or not to pursue a conversion before the end of the election period. Each leaseholder shall have one vote per leasehold, except that no leaseholder shall have more than 30 percent of the aggregate park vote. The commissioner shall assist the leaseholders to hold an election using secret ballots.
(d) If leaseholders representing at least 70 percent of the leaseholds elect to pursue a conversion, the declarant may proceed toward conversion by following the requirements under sections 1355-1362 of this subchapter.
(e) If leaseholders representing less than 70 percent of the leaseholds elect to pursue a conversion, a conversion shall not take place without providing additional notice pursuant to section 1353 of this title. (Added 1993, No. 97, § 1.)