Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 27 : Property

Chapter 015 : Condominium Ownership Act

Subchapter 002 : Protection of Tenants in Conversion of Rental Units

(Cite as: 27 V.S.A. § 1334)
  • § 1334. Exclusive right to purchase

    (a) For 90 days after giving the notice described in section 1333 of this title, the declarant shall offer to convey each unit or proposed unit occupied for residential use to the tenant who rents that unit. The tenant shall be given all documents provided to the general public or to other tenants as part of the offering for sale of the unit. If a tenant fails to contract for the unit during the offer period, the declarant may not offer an interest in that unit during the following 90 days at a price or on terms more favorable to the offeree than the price or terms offered to the tenant.

    (b) If a declarant conveys a unit in violation of section 1333 to a purchaser for value who has no knowledge of the violation, recordation of the deed conveying the unit extinguishes any right a tenant may have to purchase the unit, but does not affect the right of a tenant to recover damages from the declarant.

    (c) This section shall not apply to any unit in a conversion building if that unit will be restricted exclusively to nonresidential use or the boundaries of the converted unit do not substantially conform to the dimensions of the residential unit before conversion. (Added 1985, No. 175 (Adj. Sess.), § 5.)