Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 076 : MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPISTS

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 4040)
  • [Effective until July 1, 2023.]

    § 4040. Renewals

    (a) Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee, provided the person applying for renewal has completed at least 20 hours of continuing education, approved by the Board, during the preceding two-year period. The Board shall establish, by rule, guidelines and criteria for continuing education credit. The continuing education requirement shall not apply for the first renewal period.

    (b) Biennially, the Board shall forward a renewal form to each licensed marriage and family therapist. Upon receipt of the completed form and the renewal fee, the Board shall renew a license.

    (c) Any application for renewal of a license that has expired shall be accompanied by the renewal fee and late fee. A person shall not be required to pay renewal fees for years during which the license was lapsed.

    (d) [Repealed.] (Added 1993, No. 222 (Adj. Sess.), § 13; amended 1997, No. 40, §§ 64, 73(a); 1999, No. 52, § 33; 2013, No. 27, § 45.)

  • [Effective July 1, 2023.]

    § 4040. Renewals

    (a) Licenses shall be renewed every two years upon payment of the required fee, provided the person applying for renewal has completed at least 20 hours of continuing education, approved by the Board, during the preceding two-year period.

    (1) The Board shall establish, by rule, guidelines and criteria for continuing education credit. Synchronous virtual continuing education credits shall be approvable and accepted as live in-person training. Continuing education requirements shall include requiring one or more continuing education units in the area of systematic oppression and anti-oppressive practice, or in related topic areas, consistent with the report recommendations from the Health Equity Advisory Commission required pursuant to 2021 Acts and Resolves No. 33, Sec. 5 for improving cultural competency, cultural humility, and antiracism in Vermont’s health care system.

    (2) The continuing education requirement shall not apply for the first renewal period. If the licensee is licensed in one or more other mental health professions under this title, continuing education units completed for one mental health profession shall count toward the required continuing education units for the other mental health profession or professions for which the licensee is licensed under this title.

    (b) Biennially, the Board shall forward a renewal form to each licensed marriage and family therapist. Upon receipt of the completed form and the renewal fee, the Board shall renew a license.

    (c) Any application for renewal of a license that has expired shall be accompanied by the renewal fee and late fee. A person shall not be required to pay renewal fees for years during which the license was lapsed.

    (d) [Repealed.] (Added 1993, No. 222 (Adj. Sess.), § 13; amended 1997, No. 40, §§ 64, 73(a); 1999, No. 52, § 33; 2013, No. 27, § 45; 2021, No. 117 (Adj. Sess.), § 5, eff. July 1, 2023.)