Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 069 : Real Estate Appraisers

Subchapter 003 : Licenses, Certifications, and Registrations

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 3321)
  • § 3321. Renewals

    (a) Except for a license issued to an appraisal management company, a licensed issued under this chapter shall be renewed biennially upon payment of the required fee and upon satisfactory completion of the minimum continuing education requirements established by AQB during the immediately preceding two-year period. An appraisal management company shall renew its license annually in compliance with State and federal regulations.

    (b) If an individual or an appraisal management company fails to renew in a timely manner, he, she, or it may renew the license within 30 days of the renewal date by satisfying all requirements set forth in law, including, as applicable, those requirements of AQB for reactivation and payment of an additional late renewal penalty.

    (c) The Director may reactivate the license of an individual or an appraisal management company whose license has lapsed for more than 30 days upon payment of the renewal fee, the reactivation fee, and the late renewal penalty, provided the individual or appraisal management company has satisfied all the requirements set forth in law, including, as applicable, those requirements of AQB for reactivation.

    (d) The Director may require, by rule, as a condition of reactivation, that an applicant, other than an appraisal management company, undergo review of one or more aspects of the applicant’s professional work in the practice of real estate appraising, provided that the manner and performance results of the review be specified by the Director. Such a review requirement shall:

    (1) be adopted reasonably in advance of the time when it is first required to be met; and

    (2) provide for compliance if the applicant shows that within the two years preceding renewal, the applicant underwent a satisfactory quality review for other purposes and that review was substantially equivalent to a review required under this section.

    (e) [Repealed.] (Added 1989, No. 264 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1993, No. 217 (Adj. Sess.), §§ 11, 12; 2009, No. 103 (Adj. Sess.), § 46, eff. May 12, 2010; 2011, No. 66, § 11, eff. June 1, 2011; 2013, No. 27, § 44; 2019, No. 30, § 21; 2019, No. 178 (Adj. Sess.), § 18, eff. Oct. 1, 2020.)