Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 065 : Clinical Mental Health Counselors

Subchapter 001 : General Provisions

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 3265)
  • § 3265. Eligibility

    To be eligible for licensure as a clinical mental health counselor an applicant shall have:

    (1) Received a master’s degree or higher degree in counseling or a related field, from an accredited educational institution, after having successfully completed a course of study requiring a minimum number of graduate credit hours established by the Board by rule and a supervised practicum, internship, or field experience, as defined by the Board by rule, in a mental health counseling setting.

    (2) Documented a minimum of 3,000 hours of supervised work in clinical mental health counseling during a minimum of two years of post-master’s experience, including at least 100 hours of face-to-face supervision during a minimum of two years of post-master’s experience. Persons engaged in supervised work shall be registered on the roster of nonlicensed, noncertified psychotherapists and shall comply with the laws applicable to registrants.

    (3) Passed the examinations required by Board rules. (Added 1987, No. 245 (Adj. Sess.), § 1; amended 1993, No. 98, § 12; 1993, No. 222 (Adj. Sess.), § 9a; 1997, No. 40, § 53; 2001, No. 151 (Adj. Sess.), § 32, eff. June 27, 2002; 2005, No. 27, § 93; 2005, No. 148 (Adj. Sess.), § 36; 2017, No. 144 (Adj. Sess.), § 25.)