Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

 

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 055 : PSYCHOLOGISTS

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 3011a)
  • § 3011a. Applications

    (a) Any person desiring to obtain a license as a psychologist shall make application therefor to the Board upon such form and in such manner as the Board prescribes and shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the Board that he or she:

    (1) is at least 18 years of age;

    (2)(A) possesses a doctoral degree in psychology and has completed 4,000 hours of supervised practice as defined by the Board by rule, of which no fewer than 2,000 hours were completed after the doctoral degree in psychology was received; or

    (B) possesses a master's degree in psychology and has completed 4,000 hours of supervised practice as defined by the Board by rule of which no fewer than 2,000 hours were completed after the master's degree in psychology was received; and

    (3) has successfully completed the examinations designated by the Board.

    (b) A person engaged in supervised practice in Vermont, if not licensed as a clinical mental health counselor, marriage and family therapist, licensed independent clinical social worker, or licensed master's social worker shall be registered on the roster of psychotherapists who are nonlicensed and noncertified.

    (c) In exceptional cases, the Board may waive any requirement of this section if in its judgment the applicant demonstrates appropriate qualifications. (Added 1997, No. 40, § 34; amended 2011, No. 116 (Adj. Sess.), § 52; 2013, No. 138 (Adj. Sess.), § 23.)