Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online does not include the actions of the 2024 session of the General Assembly. We expect them to be updated by November 1st.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 039 : Plumbers and Plumbing

Subchapter 003 : Licenses

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 2193)
  • § 2193. Applications; examinations, education, and fees

    (a)(1) Each applicant for license shall present to the executive office of the Board, on blanks furnished by the Board, a written application for examination and license containing such information as the Board may require, accompanied by the fee required. Notwithstanding 32 V.S.A. § 502(a), if the examination is conducted by an outside testing service, the required examination fee may be paid directly to the testing service.

    (2) Examinations shall be in whole or in part in writing and shall include the theoretical and practical nature of plumbing or specialties, or both, and knowledge of State laws, the rules of the Departments of Health and of Environmental Conservation, and such other rules and regulations as the Board may determine necessary to satisfactorily determine the qualifications of the applicant. Examinations shall be relevant to the instructional material taught in classes, codes used, and new developments and procedures within the trade.

    (b) Any applicant who fails an examination may, upon payment of the examination fee, retake the examination.

    (c) License and renewal fees are as follows:

    (1) Master plumber license $ 120.00
    (2) Journeyman plumber license $ 90.00
    (3) Specialist license $ 50.00
    (4) Master renewal fee $ 120.00
    (5) Journeyman renewal fee $ 90.00
    (6) Specialist renewal fee $ 50.00
    (7) License certificate $ 10.00

    (d) Master and journeyman plumbers shall be exempt from paying license or renewal fees as specialists.

    (e) Pursuant to qualifications and procedures determined by the Commissioner, the Board shall, upon request, waive application fees to qualified military members and military spouses.

    (f) In addition to other education requirements of this subchapter, the Commissioner shall require each applicant to complete an education module regarding the State’s energy goals and how the plumbing profession can further those goals.

    (1) The education module shall be not more than two hours and shall be required as a condition of initial licensure and license renewal, except that master and journeyman plumbers who complete this education module shall not be required to complete this education module for any additional specialty license. The module shall include education on any State or utility incentives relevant to the profession.

    (A) The education module for initial licensure shall provide general information regarding the State’s energy goals.

    (B) The education module for license renewal shall provide any updates on the State’s energy goals and any updates regarding corresponding State energy programs applicable to the profession.

    (2) The Commissioner shall consider any recommendations on these education modules provided by relevant stakeholders and approve education modules in consultation with the Agency of Natural Resources and the Department of Public Service. (Added 1959, No. 215, § 11, eff. June 2, 1959; amended 1961, No. 32, § 1; 1993, No. 176 (Adj. Sess.), § 14; 1999, No. 49, § 147; 2009, No. 134 (Adj. Sess.), § 8, eff. May 29, 2010; 2019, No. 131 (Adj. Sess.), § 279; 2019, No. 152 (Adj. Sess.), § 21, eff. April 1, 2021; 2019, No. 178 (Adj. Sess.), § 37, eff. July 1, 2021.)