Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 039 : Plumbers and Plumbing

Subchapter 001 : General Provisions

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 2174)
  • § 2174. Municipal rules and regulations; municipal inspections

    (a) The legislative body may establish inspection procedures and appoint trained, qualified master plumbers to conduct municipal inspections. If the Board determines that the inspection procedures, training, and qualifications of the municipal plumbing inspectors are sufficient, the Commissioner may assign the responsibility to inspect plumbing installations within the municipality to the municipality. Municipal inspection standards shall be, at a minimum, equal to State standards. Municipal standards may exceed State standards with approval of the Board. Municipal standards shall not prohibit implementation of 18 V.S.A. chapter 40. An assignment of responsibility under this subsection shall not affect the authority of the Board or the Commissioner under this subchapter.

    (b) Inspection procedures, including the issuance of work notices, shall be the same as for State plumbing inspections. A municipal inspector shall have the authority to enter a premises to carry out inspection responsibilities in accordance with the rules and procedures established by the Board. The legislative body may also establish reasonable fees for inspections, which shall be in lieu of fees charged by the State.

    (c) If, after inspection of the plumbing installation, a violation of the rules of the Board or the inspection procedures of the municipality is found, a municipal inspector may:

    (1) Issue an order directing the plumber of record or the owner of the premises in which the violation is found to correct or remove the violation.

    (2) Invalidate the work permit.

    (3) Pursue disciplinary procedures under section 2178 of this chapter.

    (d) A person aggrieved by an action of a municipal inspector or municipality under subsection (c) of this section may appeal to the Commissioner by filing a written application for a hearing with the Commissioner within 15 days after receiving written notice of the action. A person filing an application under this subsection shall be entitled to notice and an opportunity for a hearing before the Commissioner within 45 days. Within 30 days after the hearing, the Commissioner shall issue an order amending, modifying, or affirming the action by the municipal inspector or municipality.

    (e) Municipal inspectors shall participate in training provided by the Department of Public Safety. The Department of Public Safety shall also provide continuing consultation, review, and assistance to municipal inspectors.

    (f) The Commissioner or the Board may revoke an assignment of responsibility to a municipality granted under this section if the Commissioner or the Board determines that the training or qualifications of the municipal inspectors or the inspection procedure adopted by the legislative body is insufficient. (Added 1959, No. 215, § 4, eff. June 2, 1959; amended 1967, No. 295 (Adj. Sess.), § 7, eff. March 20, 1968; 1979, No. 122 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; 1987, No. 268 (Adj. Sess.), § 7, eff. June 21, 1988; 1993, No. 176 (Adj. Sess.), § 4; 2005, No. 8, § 12, eff. April 25, 2005; 2017, No. 127 (Adj. Sess.), § 3.)