The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 003 : Licenses and Examination(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 1836)
§ 1836. Biennial renewal of license; continuing education
(a)(1) A license issued under this chapter shall be renewed every two years upon application, payment of the required fee, and proof of completion of required continuing education. Failure to comply with the provisions of this section shall result in the suspension of all privileges granted to the licensee, beginning on the expiration date of the license.
(2) A license that has lapsed shall be renewed upon payment of the biennial renewal fee and the late renewal penalty.
(b) The Director may adopt rules necessary for the protection of the public to assure that an applicant whose license has lapsed or who has not worked for more than three years as an osteopathic physician is professionally qualified for license renewal. Conditions imposed under this subsection shall be in addition to the requirements of subsection (a) of this section.
(c) As a condition of renewal, a licensee shall complete a minimum of 30 hours of continuing medical education, during the preceding two-year period. The 30 hours of continuing medical education shall meet the requirements established by the Board by rule.
(d) [Repealed.] (Amended 1989, No. 250 (Adj. Sess.), § 51; 1989, No. 253 (Adj. Sess.), § 14; 2013, No. 27, § 20; 2015, No. 38, § 21, eff. May 28, 2015; 2023, No. 77, § 6, eff. June 20, 2023.)