The Vermont Statutes Online
Subchapter 003 : LICENSES(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 1392)
§ 1392. Repealed. 1987, No. 50, § 2, eff. May 15, 1987.
§ 1392. Limited temporary license for postgraduate training
(a) Qualifications for limited training license.
(1) An applicant for a limited training license to practice medicine in a postgraduate training program shall meet each of requirements set forth in subdivisions (2)(A) through (E) of this subsection. A requirement may be met either by satisfying the requirement on its own terms or by qualifying for an exception established in this chapter or by the Board by rule.
(2) An applicant shall submit evidence of identity acceptable to the Board and shall establish that the applicant:
(A) is at least 18 years of age;
(B) has graduated from a medical school accredited by an organization that is acceptable to the Board, or from a medical school that has been approved by the Board by rule;
(C) has been accepted to participate in a postgraduate medical training program accredited by a body approved by the Board by rule;
(D) is of sound moral character and professional competence as evidenced by the applicant's entire personal history, as established by information about the applicant's academic, licensing examination, employment, professional credentialing, professional certification, professional regulation, civil litigation, and criminal records submitted by the applicant or otherwise obtained by the Board in the application process; and
(E) will be practicing in a program under the supervision of a Vermont-licensed physician who has acknowledged in writing:
(i) the responsibility to ensure that the program operates in accordance with the requirements of the accrediting body; and
(ii) the responsibility to ensure that physicians in training practice only under the close supervision and control of Vermont-licensed physicians.
(b) Terms of limited training license.
(1) A limited training license shall be issued for the period of a "training year," which shall run from July 1 through June 30. All limited training licenses shall expire at 12:00 midnight on July 1, regardless of when issued, unless the holder leaves the program before that date, in which case the license expires upon the holder leaving the program. The Board may issue a limited training license up to 90 days prior to the beginning of a training year.
(2) A limited training license shall be renewed annually for each licensee who intends to continue to practice in a training program, in accordance with such requirements as the Board may provide by rule.
(3) A limited training license authorizes the holder to practice only within the approved training program and only at sites that are part of the hospital or other facility hosting the training program, along with such other locations as may be formally designated as a training site of the program.
(4) A limited training license shall become invalid 14 days after the supervising physician described in subdivision (a)(2)(E) of this subsection stops supervising the program for any reason, unless documentation of a new supervising physician is filed with the Board prior to the expiration of the 14-day period.
(5) A physician practicing under a limited training license is subject to the provisions of section 1354 of this chapter. (Added 2019, No. 126 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)