The Vermont Statutes Online
The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.
NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.
Subchapter 003 : Licenses(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 1091)
§ 1091. Eligibility for licensure
(a) Each applicant for licensure as a property inspector shall meet the following minimum requirements:
(1) Be at least 18 years of age and have successfully completed high school or its equivalent.
(2) Complete no less than 80 hours of education approved by the Director covering all of the following real property core components:
(A) heating systems;
(B) cooling systems;
(C) plumbing systems;
(D) electrical systems;
(E) structural components;
(G) roof coverings;
(H) exterior and interior components; and
(I) site aspects as they affect the building.
(3) Pass an examination required for licensure. The Director shall identify by rule an eligibility examination required for licensure that is an independent, nationally recognized proctored examination.
(b) Proof of certification issued by an independent, nationally recognized organization that provides certification for property inspectors satisfies the eligibility requirements set forth in subdivisions (a)(2) and (3) of this section. The Director shall identify by rule acceptable organizations for certification. The Director shall issue a license to practice to any person who in addition to the requirements of subdivision (a)(1) of this section is certified by an acceptable organization identified by the Director. (Added 2013, No. 136 (Adj. Sess.), § 2; amended 2015, No. 38, § 6, eff. May 28, 2015.)