Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 007 : Podiatry

Subchapter 002 : Licensure

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 378)
  • § 378. Limited temporary licenses

    (a) Notwithstanding section 371 of this title, the Board may grant an applicant a limited temporary license to practice podiatry for a period of up to 54 weeks if the applicant:

    (1) furnishes the Board with satisfactory proof that he or she has attained the age of majority;

    (2) has received a diploma or certificate of graduation from an accredited school of podiatric medicine approved by the Board;

    (3) has been appointed as an intern, resident, fellow, or medical officer in a licensed hospital or in a clinic that is affiliated with a licensed hospital, or in a hospital or an institution maintained by the State, or in a clinic or an outpatient clinic affiliated with or maintained by the State; and

    (4) pays the fee set forth in subdivision 1401a(a)(3) of this title.

    (b) A limited temporary license may be renewed upon payment of the fee set forth in subdivision 1401a(a)(3) of this title for the period of the applicant’s postgraduate training, internship, or fellowship program.

    (c) A limited temporary license shall entitle the applicant to practice podiatry only in the hospital or other institution designated on his or her certificate of limited temporary license and in clinics operated by or affiliated with that designated hospital or institution and only if the applicant is under the direct supervision and control of a licensed podiatrist. The licensed podiatrist shall be legally responsible and liable for all negligent or wrongful acts or omissions of the limited temporary licensee and shall file with the Board the name and address both of himself or herself and of the limited temporary licensee and the name of the hospital or other institution.

    (d) A limited temporary license shall be revoked upon the death or legal incompetency of the supervising licensed podiatrist or, upon 10 days’ written notice, by withdrawal of his or her filing by the supervising licensed podiatrist. A limited temporary licensee shall at all times exercise the same standard of care and skill as a licensed podiatrist. Termination of appointment as intern, resident, fellow, or medical officer of a designated hospital or institution shall operate as a revocation of a limited temporary license. (Added 2007, No. 163 (Adj. Sess.), § 8a.)