Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 26 : Professions and Occupations

Chapter 006 : Barbers and Cosmetologists

Subchapter 002 : Administration

(Cite as: 26 V.S.A. § 276)
  • § 276. General powers and duties of the Director

    (a) The Director shall:

    (1) adopt rules that:

    (A) prescribe sanitary and safety standards for shops, schools, and other facilities used for the practice of barbering and cosmetology;

    (B) prescribe safe and sanitary practices for the performance of activities related to the practice of barbering and cosmetology;

    (C) establish standards for apprenticeships, courses, and examinations to be completed by an applicant for licensure under this chapter;

    (D) establish qualifications for licensure under this chapter as:

    (i) a barber, provided mandated formal training shall be 750 hours;

    (ii) a cosmetologist, provided mandated formal training shall be 1,000 hours;

    (iii) an esthetician, provided mandated formal training shall be 500 hours; and

    (iv) a nail technician, provided mandated formal training shall be 200 hours; and

    (E)(i) establish criteria for apprenticeships that would enable a person seeking licensure under this chapter to train under an appropriately qualified Vermont licensee in order to attain licensure without mandated formal training; and

    (ii) limit the duration of a required apprenticeship to not more than 150 percent of the duration of the corresponding formal training.

    (2) Provide general information to applicants for licensure or registration under this chapter.

    (3) Explain appeal procedures to licensees and applicants and complaint procedures to the public.

    (4) Offer examinations at least once a year, if applications for examination are pending, and pass on the qualifications of the applicants.

    (b)(1) The Director may inspect shops and schools and other places used for the practice of barbering and cosmetology.

    (2) A fee shall not be charged for initial inspections under this subsection; however, if the Director determines that it is necessary to inspect the same premises in the same ownership more than once in any two-year period, the Director shall charge a reinspection fee.

    (3) The Director may waive all or a part of the reinspection fee in accordance with criteria established by rule. (Added 1997, No. 40, § 16; amended 2017, No. 144 (Adj. Sess.), § 12, eff. Jan. 1, 2019.)