Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters


Subchapter 001 : CREATION AND POWERS

(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 405, § 3)
  • § 405-3. Composition

    The District shall consist of the Cities of Burlington, South Burlington, and Winooski, and the Towns of Charlotte, Colchester, Essex, Hinesburg, Huntington, Jericho, Milton, Richmond, St. George, Shelburne, Westford, and Williston, the Village of Essex Junction, and, subject to section 57 of this chapter, those municipalities which elect to join the District by majority vote of such municipalities, voters present and voting at an annual or special meeting duly warned for such purpose, excepting those municipalities (including the above named municipalities) which may withdraw from the District in accordance with section 56 of this chapter. All previous actions of the member municipalities relating to the formation of the District and all previous actions of, and ordinances and regulations adopted by, the Board of Commissioners of the existing Chittenden Solid Waste District, are ratified and approved. The Town of Essex (the "Town") and the Village of Essex Junction (the "Village") shall be treated as separate member municipalities for purposes of this chapter, including representation on the Board of Commissioners and action of the legal voters of the District under this charter. Legal voters who are residents within the Village shall be entitled to vote at any District meeting only as a resident of the Village and shall not be entitled to a second vote by their residency within the Town.