The Vermont Statutes Online
§ 283-16. Assessments
The trustees of the Village in making assessments, which shall only be after a vote thereon by the Village, against the owners of buildings or lands benefited thereby for the making, altering, or repairing of sidewalks, culverts, sewers, and drains, or for the oiling or sprinkling of streets shall give at least 12 days' notice to the parties interested in owning an interest in such buildings or lands when and where they will consider the question of damages or assessments or both and such notice may be by publication in a newspaper published in the Village, which publication shall be at least 12 days before the hearing. Upon such hearing the trustees shall assess the owners of the buildings and lands benefited so much of the expenses as said trustees shall judge such buildings or lands to be benefited and shall forthwith make a report of their doings which they shall cause to be filed in the office of the Village Clerk and entered on the Village records. Any person dissatisfied with the decision of the trustees may petition the Washington County Court for a reassessment of such damages or benefits. Said petition shall be served on the Clerk of the Village within 30 days after the award of damages or assessments has been filed in said Clerk's office and at least 12 days before the session of the Court to which it is addressed, but such petition shall not delay the making or repairing of any sewer, drain, culvert or sidewalk. When such petition is filed in the County Court the same proceeding shall be had thereon as is provided by law in case of appeals from the award for damages in regard to the laying out of a highway. If no proceedings are commenced within 30 days as above provided such award or assessment shall be valid and collectable. When such award or assessment is finally determined by decision of the County Court, in case of an appeal, or by the trustees, and duly recorded in the Village Clerk's office the same shall be a lien upon the buildings or lands so assessed and if not paid to the Village Treasurer within six months from the date when the same is recorded, the trustees shall make out a rate bill therein giving a description of the buildings and lands so assessed which rate bill shall be delivered to the Village Collector with a warrant thereto attached, signed by a justice of the peace in and for the County of Washington and shall then be collected by said Collector and enforced in the manner prescribed by law for the collection of taxes.