Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters


(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 261, § 8)
  • § 261-8. Officers, how elected, terms of office

    The officers of said corporation shall consist of a Moderator, Clerk, three trustees, Treasurer, Collector of Taxes, a Chief Engineer, and two assistant engineers, all of whom, with the exception of the trustees, shall be elected annually and shall hold their respective offices for the term of one year and until others are chosen in their places; said trustees shall be elected by ballot, and, except the first two elected, shall hold office for the term of three years, but the term of office for the first two chosen shall be one year for the first and two years for the second. Thereafter one trustee shall be elected annually for the term of three years. Vacancies in the office of trustees shall be filled by ballot at any special meeting of said Village, duly warned and holden, within the space of 30 days from the date of the occurrence of said vacancy for that purpose, and any trustee or trustees so elected shall hold office only until the next annual meeting or until others are chosen in their places, and at the next succeeding annual meeting, trustee or trustees elected to succeed any trustee or trustees who shall not have served for the full term for which they were elected, shall be chosen to fill out the unexpired term of office remaining at the time of such meeting of such trustee or trustees whose offices have become vacated from any other cause than that of limitation of term of office. (Added 1892, No. 114, § 8; amended 1900, No. 168, § 2.)