Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2017-2018 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters


Subchapter 005 : ELECTED OFFICERS

(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 225, § 52)
  • § 225-52. Trustees

    (a) Except as otherwise provided in this charter, all the powers of the Village shall be entrusted to and exercised by the trustees consisting of five members chosen by the voters of the Village of Hyde Park. Three members shall be elected for terms of three years and two members shall be elected for terms of two years. The Board shall discharge all the duties conferred or imposed upon trustees by law, including the duties of water, electric and sewer commissioners, and any similar ex officio duties; and when sitting in such official capacity, it shall not be necessary to convene in a separate capacity.

    (b) The trustees shall meet within 14 business days after the annual election to elect a Chair and to designate one of their Board or the Village Clerk as Clerk of the Board. Special meetings of the trustees may be called at any time by the Chair, or, in the Chair's absence, by a majority of the trustees.

    (c) No action of the Board shall be valid or binding unless approved by a majority of the Board of Trustees. (Added 1999, No. M-11 (Adj. Sess.), § 2, eff. May 9, 2000.)