Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters

Chapter 127 : Town of Middlebury

Subchapter 003 : Officers

(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 127, § 302)
  • § 302. Elective officers

    (a) The officers elected by the Town at its annual meeting shall be:

    (1) Five Selectboard members.

    (2) Town Meeting Moderator.

    (3) Five trustees of the Ilsley Library.

    (4) Three listers.

    (5) Three auditors, unless the Town has voted to eliminate the Office of Auditor pursuant to 17 V.S.A. § 2651b.

    (6) Town Clerk.

    (7) [Repealed.]

    (8) Members of the Prudential Committee of Middlebury Incorporated School District No. 4.

    (9) Middlebury members of the Board of Union School District No. 3.

    The number of such officers to be elected at each annual meeting shall be as hereafter set forth.

    (b) All elected officers shall be chosen from the legally qualified voters of the Town and shall hold office for the terms hereafter specified and until their successors are elected and qualified.

    (c) All officers shall be elected by Australian ballot.

    (d) When an elected officer specified in subdivisions 302(a)(1) through (7) of this charter resigns, makes another Town his or her residence, dies, or becomes incapacitated, his or her office shall become vacant and the Selectboard shall appoint an eligible person to fill the vacancy until the next annual meeting. The person elected shall at the annual meeting serve until his or her predecessor’s term expires. Incapacity shall include the failure of a Selectboard member to attend 50 percent of the meetings of the Board in any calendar year.

    (e) If the Town so votes at its annual meeting, two additional Selectboard members may be elected from the legally qualified voters of the Town for a term of three years each, the first such election to take place at the annual meeting following the annual meeting at which the additional offices are created. A vote so taken in favor of additional Selectboard members shall not be rescinded. (Amended 2015, No. M-12, § 2, eff. May 26, 2015; amended 2023, No. M-6, § 2, eff. May 25, 2023.)