Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2019-2020 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online


Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters


(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 279, § 4)
  • § 279-4. Board of Trustees

    (a) The legislative body of the Village of Swanton shall be the Board of Trustees, consisting of three trustees and the Village President, each of whom shall be elected by Australian ballot at the annual meeting of the Village. Trustees shall be elected for staggered terms of three years each. The Village President shall be elected for a term of one year.

    (b) The Board of Trustees shall have the general supervision of the affairs of the Village of Swanton, including the maintenance, operation, administration, and management of public highways, waterworks, sewerage collection and disposal systems, parks and recreation, and municipal electric plant. They shall cause to be performed all duties required of villages not committed by law to any particular officer.

    (c) The number of the Board of Trustees may be changed by the voters at an annual meeting of the Village duly warned. The Board of Trustees shall consist of not fewer than three members and not more than five members.

    (d) The Board of Trustees shall be ex officio the Village Board of Water and Sewer Commissioners and the Village Board of Electric Department Commissioners.

    (e) The sewer commissioners shall be responsible for developing, implementing, and administering policies and procedures for allocating sewer capacity.

    (f) The Board of Trustees, in addition to all other responsibilities and authority legally vested in it, shall be responsible for establishing and enforcing policies respecting the use, occupancy, and maintenance of all Village property.