Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online


Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters

Chapter 162 : TOWN OF WOODFORD

(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 162, § 8)
  • § 8. Elected officers

    (a) The following officers of the Town and such other Town officers as are provided by law and previous vote of the electorate as to number, length of term, and manner of election at an annual meeting shall be elected by Australian (secret) ballot, unless otherwise stated, and shall include the following:

    (1) A Moderator to be elected by paper ballot from the floor, for a term of one year.

    (2) Three Selectboard members, who shall serve staggered three-year terms.

    (3) Three listers, for terms of three years, staggered to ensure no more than one term ends in any particular year. The Board of Listers shall have the same powers and duties prescribed for listers under the laws of the State of Vermont and this charter. The listers or the assessors shall annually review or cause to be reviewed their assessment of all property in the Town that is subject to taxation. The property shall be assessed in accordance with the standards established by the laws of the State.

    (4) A Town Clerk for a term of three years.

    (5) A Town Treasurer for a term of three years.

    (6) A Delinquent Tax Collector for a term of three years.

    (7) Four trustees of public funds, three of whom are Selectboard members and one who is the Town Treasurer. Each is to serve a three-year term.

    (8) Three auditors shall be elected for staggered three-year terms, with one elected each year. They shall be responsible for the proper financial accountability of the Town by ensuring that an annual audit is done by an independent professional auditing firm hired by the Selectboard and may be assigned other financial-related duties by the Selectboard.

    (b) Justices of the peace are also part of the Board of Civil Authority. To become a justice of the peace, a person shall be elected at a general election or be appointed to fill the vacancy by the Governor of Vermont. These elected officials are actually county officers. The duties of the justices fall into five categories of responsibilities: elections, tax abatement and appeals, civil marriages, oaths and notary, and magistrate.

    (c) The Board of Civil Authority has the duty of updating the voter checklist and hearing tax abatements and tax grievance appeals. The Board of Civil Authority consists of the justices of the peace, the Town of Woodford Selectboard, the Town Clerk, the Town Treasurer, and the Town assessor(s) (for abatement only). Note Vermont State Statutes, 17 V.S.A. §§ 2103(5), 2122, and 2142-2150. (Added 2013, No. M-8, § 2, eff. May 23, 2013.)