Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2021-2022 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online


Title 24 Appendix : Municipal Charters

Chapter 123 : TOWN OF HARDWICK


(Cite as: 24 App. V.S.A. ch. 123, § 904)
  • § 123-904. Electric Department commissioners

    (a) The Town of Hardwick may own and operate municipal electric plants as provided in 30 V.S.A. chapter 79, the management, operation, and administration of which shall be vested in a Board of Electric Utility Commissioners consisting of five persons to be appointed by the Board of Selectmen whose initial terms shall be established by resolution of the Board of Selectmen so as to provide that no more than two of such commissioners shall be appointed annually. Each appointment shall take effect on July 1 of each year, and no commissioner may be removed from office except for cause. Notwithstanding any provision of this charter or the general law, the Board of Selectmen may appoint no more than two electric utility commissioners who are not residents of the Town; provided, however, that such commissioners reside within and are full time residents of the area served by the Town's municipal electric plant.

    (b) The provisions of 24 V.S.A. chapter 53 and 30 V.S.A. chapter 79, as amended, or similar general enactments, shall control the financing, improvements, expansion, and disposition of the Town municipal electric plant.

    (c) The charges and rates for electric service shall be a lien upon real estate, wherever located, furnished with such service in the same manner and to the same effect as taxes are a lien upon real estate under 32 V.S.A. § 5061. The owner of such property furnished with electric service, wherever located, shall be liable for such charges and rates.