Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 24 : Municipal and County Government

Chapter 117 : Municipal and Regional Planning and Development

Subchapter 002 : Municipal Planning Commissions

(Cite as: 24 V.S.A. § 4327)
  • § 4327. Joint planning commissions

    (a) Any planning commission of a municipality which is a town having one or more municipalities contained within its area or which is one of such contained municipalities shall, upon the act of the legislative body of each municipality, be the planning commission under this chapter for such town and all such contained municipalities.

    (b) A planning commission acting for more than one municipality shall be the planning commission for such town and all such contained municipalities until such joint arrangement is terminated by the act of the legislative body of any participating municipality.

    (c) In any town containing one or more villages, any act required under this chapter to be taken by a legislative body or by the vote of a municipality shall be taken by the legislative body of the town or, as the case may be, the voters of the town, including the voters of any contained village.

    (d) If a contained village adopts its own plan, capital budget, or program or one or more bylaws, then any act required under this chapter for the adoption shall be taken by the legislative body or voters of the village. Nevertheless, the voters of the village shall remain as voters in the town for the adoption of town bylaws and capital budget and program, as provided in subsection (c) of this section.

    (e) A single planning commission, appointed by the Board of Governors of the unified towns and gores of Essex County, namely Averill, Avery’s Gore, Ferdinand, Lewis, Warner’s Grant, and Warren’s Gore, shall serve as the planning commission for these towns and gores. (Added 1967, No. 334 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. March 23, 1968; amended 1973, No. 188 (Adj. Sess.), § 1, eff. July 1, 1974; 1973, No. 261 (Adj. Sess.),§§ 3, 7 eff. July 1, 1974; 1975, No. 164 (Adj. Sess.), § 3; 2005, No. 30, § 1; 2005, No. 105 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.)