Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 24 : Municipal and County Government

Chapter 101 : Sewage Disposal System

(Cite as: 24 V.S.A. § 3612)
  • § 3612. Charges; enforcement

    (a) The owner of any tenement, house, building, or lot shall be liable for the sewage disposal charge as hereinafter defined. Such sewage disposal charge shall be a lien upon the real estate furnished with such service in the same manner and to the same effect as taxes are a lien upon real estate under 32 V.S.A. § 5061 and shall be an assessment enforceable under the procedures in subsections (b), (c), or (d) of this section, or a combination of these procedures.

    (b) When an assessment remains unpaid for a period of 30 days, the treasurer of the municipality may issue a warrant for its collection directed to the collector of taxes, who shall have the same power to enforce the collection and shall proceed in the same manner as provided by law for the collection of taxes under 32 V.S.A. chapter 133, subchapter 9.

    (c) When the ratepayer fails to render payment for a valid bill or charge within 30 days of the postmark on the bill or on the due date, the appointed and elected municipal officials may proceed with collection of the delinquency as provided in chapter 129 of this title.

    (d) When an assessment remains unpaid for two years, the municipal officials may proceed to enforce the lien as provided in 32 V.S.A. chapter 133, subchapter 8. (Amended 1983, No. 54, § 2; 1987, No. 24, § 2; 1989, No. 45, § 4.)