Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to subnav
Searching 2023-2024 Session

The Vermont Statutes Online

The Vermont Statutes Online have been updated to include the actions of the 2023 session of the General Assembly.

NOTE: The Vermont Statutes Online is an unofficial copy of the Vermont Statutes Annotated that is provided as a convenience.

Title 24 : Municipal and County Government

Chapter 083 : Building Inspectors and Regulation of Building

(Cite as: 24 V.S.A. § 3116)
  • § 3116. Building taken down; penalty

    When such report declares such structure to be unsafe, and when the owner, agent, or person interested continues such refusal or neglect, the inspector shall cause it to be taken down or otherwise made safe. The costs and charges incurred shall constitute a lien upon the land upon which such building is situated, and shall be enforced within the time and in the manner provided for the collection of taxes on land. For every day’s continuance of such refusal or neglect, the owner or person interested shall forfeit to the city, town, or incorporated village in which such structure is situated not more than $50.00 nor less than $10.00, to be recovered in a civil action on this statute.